The eyes of Texas have inspired their share of songs, starting with, well, "The Eyes of Texas Are Upon You," the official anthem of the University of Texas at Austin, which made its debut at a 1903 minstrel show (!) to benefit the U.T. track team. But one of the loveliest tributes to Los Ojos de Tejas comes from this tune, which was a 1988 hit for the band Restless Heart. Here it's interpreted in twangy, haunting fashion by Nina Persson of the Swedish pop group, The Cardigans, and Nathan Larson, of the alternative band Shudder To Think. This track appeared on the soundtrack to the 1999 film Boys Don't Cry, which also featured songs by Lone Star legends Roky Erickson (of the 13th Floor Elevators) and the Bobby Fuller Four.